Reviews

Beautiful Room, friendly staff and superb food. - Rating 5/5

I stayed in Room 2 which was lovely. The bed was comfortable and I had a wonderful nights sleep. I ate in the restaurant on arrival. Beautifully cooked duck in a cherry and star anise sauce, followed by a brandy basked filled with minted strawberries and clotted team. I would recommend eating at the restaurant as it was really delicious. All of the staff were friendly and suggested places to visit and things to do. I hope to stay again, hopefully with my husband next time as I had some a lovely time. The gardens are beautiful and I loved watching two rabbits running around in the twilight. Don\'t be put off by the entrance to the carpark, which your SAT Nav will not find, as it\'s between two disused building currently being refurbished. A new entrance to the car park is planned. There is a sign indicating the entrance. once in the car park you will soon see the hotel.

Response

Dear Lorna Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you hope to visit again in the future. We take pride in the food we serve and the service we provide, so it is always nice to know that it has been recognised so we have, of course, passed your lovely comments on to the team who work with us. Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you soon..by which point, fingers crossed, the new entrance will be complete! Kind regards Lynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer: Lorna Chatwin | Sun 25th Jun 2017


One Night Stay - Rating 5/5

Once again a very enjoyable stay at the Tumbling Weir. I have been staying here for the last 10 years and as always the service and friendly atmosphere were as great as ever and a breakfast to die for. Many thanks

Response

Dear Mr Burch We\'re so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, repeat visits are proof that we\'re doing something right, so, thank you very much. We hope we can welcome you back again soon and repeat the positive experience. Best regards Lynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer: Mr. Christopher Burch | Mon 8th May 2017


One night Stay. - Rating 4/5

Pleasant Stay, only not long enough.

Response

Dear Mr Miles Many thanks for your recent review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can welcome you back again in the near future. Best regards Lynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer: Mike Miles | Mon 24th Apr 2017


:] - Rating 5/5

Very relaxed comfortable stay.

Response

Dear Georgie Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we can welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Lynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer: Mrs. Georgina Syed | Mon 10th Apr 2017


An excellent hotel - Rating 5/5

Quiet,spacious bedroom,a comfortable residents\' lounge and most of all, a top quality chef who provided excellently cooked meals from a well thought out menu. Pleasant and helpful staff added to our enjoyment of a very pleasant stay at a modest price.

Response

Dear Mr Davies Thank you for your lovely comments, we will pass them on to all the staff concerned. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back again soon. Kindest regards Lynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer: Mr. Michael Davies | Fri 7th Apr 2017


Worth a visit - Rating 4/5

Wonderful location.Rooms spotless.Food very good. A lovely & friendly atmosphere

Response

Dear Mr Trude Thank you so much for your kind comments, which we\'ll pass on to all the staff. We\'re glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back again in the future. Best regards Lynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer: Mr. Terence Trude | Wed 5th Apr 2017


Friendly host. Helpful staff. - Rating 4/5

It was quite difficult for us to find a B&B and dinner place. The host and their staff were very helpful with arranging room and dinner for us. I gave 4 star as the room would be better with some updating and the bedding was a bit too soft for us. Would consider coming back again Thank you!

Response

Dear Tammy We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are very lucky to have friendly staff who, like us, aim to make everyone feel relaxed and at home when they come to stay. We hope we can welcome you back again very soon. Kind regards Lynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer: Tammy Yick | Mon 27th Mar 2017


Great Place - Rating 5/5

Lovely location , great breakfast , friendly staff and nice rooms

Response

Dear Stephen Thank you for your lovely comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the nearby building works didn\'t impact negatively on our peaceful location. We hope we can welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards Lynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer: stephen Ambrose | Mon 13th Mar 2017


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

What a gem of a hotel! Lovely hosts, very comfortable room which was spotless. We had a good dinner and excellent breakfast. I would highly recommend staying here to anyone.

Response

Dear Ian We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that everything was to your comfort. We will pass your very kind comments onto the kitchen and housekeeping team, it will mean a lot to them. We hope we can welcome you back again very soon. Best regards Lynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer: Mr. Ian Ross | Mon 13th Mar 2017


Nice Hotel - Rating 4/5

Clean and good service in a nice charming hotel

Response

Dear Mr Stahl Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards Lynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer: Mr. Jerker Ståhl | Mon 13th Mar 2017


As close to perfection as you could get - would def recommend 100 per cent - Rating 5/5

Beautiful room with the little personal touches to make your stay the best it can be - very clean everywhere - breakfast had good choices and food excellent as were the hosts - tucked away in the heart of Ottery St Mary - beautiful tranquil location -cannot praise this place enough and will definitely stay again

Response

Dear Jenny Thank you so much for your very kind comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be to your comfort. We are very fortunate to be located where we are and hope our guests can make the most of our tranquil setting during their stay. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards Lynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer: Jenny Baker | Sun 22nd Jan 2017


Perfect - Rating 5/5

A beautifully decorated and cosy family run hotel. Excellent breakfast and beautifully presented. Ive stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels but to be honest this little gem has been far better. Cant wait to stay again.

Response

Dear Nicola Thank you so much for your very kind comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that everything was to your comfort. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Lynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer: Nicola Young | Sun 22nd Jan 2017


A delectable hotel in a wonderful setting - Rating 4/5

This hotel is warm (even at coldest time of year!); has well-appointed rooms, with excellent bedding and pillows; restaurant offers fine dinner menu; and it is set within a beautiful garden, in a very quiet part of town, near the old millstream and river Otter.

Response

Dear Hilary Thank you so much for your very kind comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that everything was to your comfort. We are very fortunate to be located where we are and only hope our guests can make the most of our peaceful setting during their stay. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards Lynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer: Hilary Finch | Sat 21st Jan 2017


Alan and Christine Disher - Rating 5/5

Very warm and friendly welcome. Comfortable and attractive bedroom. Excellent and generous breakfast. A kind and helpful response to Alan following his nasty fall prior to arrival. Many thanks.

Response

Thank you very much for your kind comments and we hope Mr Disher has recovered from his nasty fall. Kind regards from the Tumbling Weir.

Reviewer: Mrs. Christine Disher | Fri 20th Jan 2017


One nightd B&B on business in \"low\" season - Rating 4/5

Very pleasant room, food excellent, would recommend as an ideal stop over in Ottery

Response

Dear Mr Stanford, thank you so much for your very kind review, we\'re glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer: Mr. Dave Stanford | Wed 16th Nov 2016


Tumbling Wier Hotel - Rating 4/5

Delightful building and room, still in need of some restoration (car park,electrics etc). Friendly staff, good food. Difficult access with a wide car, otherwise eccellent.

Response

Dear Mr Ackroyd, thank you for your kind comments, we\'re glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to The Tumbling Weir Hotel in the future, at which point, we hope the new entrance road will be open. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer: Saul Ackroyd | Fri 28th Oct 2016


Very comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

Everything was as it should be, quiet, tranquil, warm, comfortable, delicious food, lovely grounds, cottage-like, attentive service with reassuringly traditional hospitality. Thank you so much. Strange narrow entrance but once the building work has completed it will be lovely.

Response

Dear Mrs Mitchell, many thanks for your very kind review, we\'re glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to the Tumbling Weir Hotel again in the not too distant future. We are hopeful that the building works will be completed soon and our new and improved entrance will be open! Thanks again, best regards Lynn and Paul Thurgate

Reviewer: Mrs. Katy Mitchell | Sun 23rd Oct 2016


Delightful! - Rating 5/5

Stayed one night here for my grandmother\'s funeral. We had the wake in the hotel as well and were looked after extremely well. Lovely people, very friendly, very attentive. Fantastic breakfast! Oh and thanks very much for allowing me to hose my extremely muddy bicycle after my pre-breakfast ride. We\'ll be back, no doubt :)

Reviewer: Michael Broadbent | Mon 17th Oct 2016


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

Hotel was very comfortable and with excellent staff - well looked after and couldn\'t ask for more - Thank you

Response

Many thanks for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future. Best regards, Lynn & Paul Thurgate

Reviewer: Mr. Michael Stubbs | Mon 10th Oct 2016


Excellent overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome on arrival; excellent food and service service in restaurant. Well kept large garden. Will book again.

Response

Thank you so much for your very kind review, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the future. Regards Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Eddie O\\\'Sullivan | Sat 10th Sep 2016


Excellent! - Rating 5/5

Can thoroughly reccommend this lovely hotel with beautiful garden. Very quiet, no sound at night apart from an owl! Nice clean, comfy room. Nice, helpful staff. Dinner was delicious!

Response

Thank you so much for your very kind review, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewer: Bonny Landsborough | Sat 10th Sep 2016


Good choice for stopover - Rating 4/5

We stayed at Tumbling Weir as an overnight stop en route from Buckinghamshire to Cornwall. Vey pleased with the hotel. Dinner was good. Room very comfortable. Friendly and efficient service. Lovely gardens. Would recommend.

Response

Thank you very much for your lovely positive review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Mrs. valerie watson | Tue 6th Sep 2016


GOOD STAY. - Rating 5/5

A nice hotel in a good location with friendly hosts. Good sized rooms with all facilities. Good food. All in all a good stay and I would like to return.

Response

Thank you very much for your very positive review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Alan Tuggey | Tue 6th Sep 2016


Weekend visit - Rating 5/5

Warm & friendly welcome, very comfortable room, superb evening meal, excellent breakfast - altogether, a very enjoyable stay, thank you.

Response

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Susan Watson | Mon 29th Aug 2016


Beautiful Days - Rating 5/5

Excellent as always.

Reviewer: Ms. Elizabeth McCoy | Wed 24th Aug 2016


As Good As Ever - Rating 5/5

This was my fourth stay at The Tunbling Weir, which in a way speaks for itself. It\'s a friendly, family-run hotel in an ideal location in Ottery with good parking and quiet surroundings and pleasnat gardens. Although relatively small, there is a great feeling of freedom and privacy. Breakfast is excellent. Lunch and dinner are also available. I have dined there in the past and would recommend it.

Response

Thank you for your very nice comments. We are so pleased you keep coming back and that you enjoy our hotel so much. Regards from Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Mr. David Britton | Fri 12th Aug 2016


Over-nighter with mum - Rating 5/5

Very clean, comfortable and friendly hotel. Lovely evening meal and very good breakfast. good sized room with all facilities, and very quiet location. Easy walk into town. Great stop off if travelling to Cornwall.

Reviewer: Claire Hargreaves | Sat 6th Aug 2016


Business Travel - Rating 4/5

Excellent accommodation and location.

Response

Thank you for your terrific review - we appreciate your time and hope to see you again in the future. Regards Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Mr. Paul Smith | Mon 1st Aug 2016


Sophisticated Hotel in Quiet location - Rating 5/5

Excellent service at this small intimate hotel located in a quiet location. Nothing was too much trouble and food and service was of a very high quality. Rooms were clean, comfortable and well provisioned. Overall I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and definitely intend to revisit now that I have found it !

Reviewer: David Wynn | Sun 10th Jul 2016


Comfortable and enjoyable - Rating 4/5

Clean comfortable room. Good facilities and friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast excellent.

Reviewer: Jenny Hancock | Sat 2nd Jul 2016


Charming Retreat - Rating 5/5

The Tumbling Weir is a charming retreat in the center of Ottery St. Mary, one step from the park. The staff are very friendly, the rooms comfortable and quiet, and the gardens lovely for relaxing with a drink in the evening. I have stayed there several times over the past 10 years and have never been disappointed. The breakfast is fantastic.

Reviewer: Mr. Neil O\'Reilly | Mon 20th Jun 2016


Wonderful hotel - an excellent place to explore Devon - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful three days here last week. The room was lovely – a comfortable bed, plenty of room for clothes and a pleasant bathroom with fantastic towels: all looking over a very pretty garden. Breakfast was excellent with home made jam and marmalade and dinner was a superb choice of food on each evening. The service throughout was friendly and extremely efficient. We had enjoyed our stay when we came before about three years ago and, as then, we were very lucky with the weather; it was pleasing to see that the high standards had been maintained. We shall certainly revisit. The only downside is the entrance to the hotel: however, this looks as if it will shortly improve as the factory next door is being turned into accommodation. Don’t let this put you off at all – this is a good centre to explore Devon and Dorset and the hotel itself is not to be missed!

Response

What a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write it. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Mr. Beverley Wragg | Tue 14th Jun 2016


A comfortable stay in a quiet location - Rating 4/5

My daughter and I enjoyed our stay at Tumbling Weir Hotel. Our room was very comfortable. The owner invited us to have a drink in the lounge, which was very pleasant, and the meal that followed was excellent.

Reviewer: Pamela Coronel | Tue 7th Jun 2016


Very enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed two nights and enjoyed the tranquil setting, friendly owners and comfortable room very much. Dinner was excellent. Will book to stay again soon.

Response

Thank you so much for your review. It\'s very much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Mr. Derek Elsom | Tue 31st May 2016


Tumbling Weir - Rating 5/5

Hotel in a lovely position with mature gardens. We had a warm welcome, room was exceptional and food was excellent. Would thoroughly recommend and certainly visit again. Great value for money!

Response

Thank you so much for your kind review. We really appreciate it! Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Graham Wilkinson | Mon 16th May 2016


Very enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

Small thatched hotel situated in quiet, picturesque surroundings, with well equipped and clean, comfortable rooms; excellent food, pleasant and helpful staff. What more could you require?

Response

What a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write it. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: John Ashby | Sun 1st May 2016


Excellent and restful stay - Rating 5/5

We selected this hotel from the web, and our initial impressions from the road entrance down the narrow lane were less than positive. However, the welcome was warm, bed very comfortable, food excellent and staff friendly and helpful.

Reviewer: Mr. Jeffery Mableson | Fri 22nd Apr 2016


Highly Recommended - Rating 5/5

If you like peace and quiet, good food, a comfy bed, a sparkling clean bathroom, good quality linen, a pretty garden full of birdlife and pleasant, unobtrusive staff this charming little hotel is for you. We came here for a family Diamond Wedding lunch party for 40 and were immediately impressed with the well cooked and presented food and good service. The quiet location and large garden made me think what a lovely wedding reception venue this would be. We stayed the night and although our room was on the small side it had everything we needed and the cleanest hotel bathroom I\'ve ever seen. I appreciated the good-quality curtains, generous supply of tea, coffee (including de-caff), 2 sachets of hot choc and tasty biscuits. We ate a hot cooked breakfast (as opposed to the lukewarm breakfasts we seem to get most of the time elsewhere), sitting at a table covered in crisp white linen. If the jam and marmalade wasn\'t homemade I\'d like to know what brand it was and we felt well looked after and a bit more special than in a Premier Inn or similar hotel chain. Don\'t be put off by the narrow entrance off the road and unmade car park you have to cross before reaching the hotel - it\'s a little gem!

Response

What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write it and noticing the little things that we make so much effort to get right. We do hope to see you again sometime in the future. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Howard Newton | Wed 13th Apr 2016


Would happily revisit - Rating 4/5

We found the staff friendly and helpful. Very much enjoyed our dinner, which was also good value. Our room had all the needed amenities, although we prefer more modern decor. Only complaint was bedside lighting, which was not suitable for reading in bed.

Response

Thank you for your comments. We apologise that the lighting was not suitable for reading and will look at a solution for this. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Mr. George Stephens | Sun 10th Apr 2016


Good location for Westpoint Arena - Rating 5/5

Bedroom - very good & comfortable & well furnished. EnSuite - all that you needed & very nice good size towels Food - excellent

Response

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Janet Lynn | Mon 28th Mar 2016


Lovely weekend - Rating 5/5

Another pleasant stay at Tumbling Weir, which is very convenient for visiting family in West Hill. Very quiet room and excellent breafasts

Reviewer: Mr. Mike Morris | Mon 14th Mar 2016


Two night stay in January - Rating 4/5

Good scrupulously clean hotel with excellent cooked breakfast. We will stay again when next in the area.

Reviewer: Ron Dodge | Wed 27th Jan 2016


Pleasant and very friendly - Rating 5/5

Comfortable room and a very pleasant environment. Good food and helpful, friendly staff. Good value for money.

Reviewer: Hameen Markar | Tue 15th Dec 2015


Hidden treasure - Rating 5/5

Lovely room really comfy bed, very clean and good amenities, breakfast was spot on after the xmas party the night before!! Would recommend

Reviewer: Mrs. Tammy Chaplyn | Sun 13th Dec 2015


Good small hotel - Rating 5/5

As in previous times that we have stayed, there is a relaxed and homely atmosphere.Very quiet rooms. Excellent breakfast using good local produce. Price competitive. Would recommend.

Reviewer: Mr. Brian Johnson | Wed 2nd Dec 2015


A hotel not to be missed - Rating 5/5

Do not be fooled by the access road this is a fine hotel in quiet location. Clean and comfortable rooms. With very cheerful and welcoming owners and staff. Excellent food. Will visit again.

Reviewer: Mr. Paul Franklin | Wed 11th Nov 2015


Very Pleasant Stay - Rating 5/5

All round great hotel. Very friendly and attentive staff. Really nice warm feeling about the place.

Response

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your review. I will pass your kind words on to our staff. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: PAUL NEALE | Thu 29th Oct 2015


Fantastic food - Rating 5/5

For a small hotel we were greatly surprised by the standard of the food. The room was comfortable and everyone was very friendly. I can not imagine that anyone would not enjoy a stay here. We were just passing through so did not get the chance to explore the grounds or the town.

Reviewer: Paul Goodall | Thu 29th Oct 2015


Lovely Hotel - Rating 4/5

Stayed here for 3 nights. Hotel in pretty location with lovely gardens. Staff very friendly and super breakfasts. Would recommend, and would like to return in warmer weather.

Reviewer: Lynda Capron-Tee | Sat 24th Oct 2015


staying at tmbling weir - Rating 5/5

first time away on my own all staff very friendly

Reviewer: Jan Kewell | Sun 18th Oct 2015


Overnight stay - Rating 4/5

Excellent stay , very friendly , nice location we stopped to give ourselves a break from a long journey . Excellent supper we had a very tasty meal at a reasonable cost . Breakfast was also very good , fab eggs !! Room was small but we knew this would be the case , however very clean and quiet . Slightly strange entrance this shouldn\'t put you off !

Reviewer: Miss. Jane Musgrave | Sun 20th Sep 2015


Feeling good - Rating 4/5

Good restaurant, excellent food.

Reviewer: Mr. Werner Koerner | Wed 2nd Sep 2015


Great hotel and location - Rating 5/5

We stayed here for the second time, very quiet, friendly staff and good breakfast.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Lucie Ariss | Mon 31st Aug 2015


Great location - Rating 4/5

Peaceful setting and gardens. Great breakfast.

Reviewer: Graham Gee | Sun 9th Aug 2015


Tumbling Weir Hotel - Rating 5/5

I stayed for one night with my son, so not really \"Group of Adults\" but none of the other choices fitted. The beds were very clean and comfortable, as was the bathroom. Staff very welcoming and accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent also.

Reviewer: Mrs. JOYCE HUTLEY | Sat 8th Aug 2015


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent, friendly hotel. Good spacious rooms and good breakfast in a relaxed atmosphere.

Reviewer: Dennis Lloyd | Fri 7th Aug 2015


My stay - Rating 5/5

I had a lovely stay @ The Tumbling weir hotel last weekend whilst attending a friends wedding , friendly helpful staff , clean hotel , treated very well , would visit again 😃👍🏻

Response

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We hope you will stay with us again soon. Kind regards, Lynn & Paul

Reviewer: Miss. Emma Lane - Piears | Fri 24th Apr 2015


excellent - Rating 5/5

My room was really clean and comfortable and had everything I needed to make me feel welcome. It felt like \"home from home\". I had a good night\'s sleep and an excellent breakfast the next morning. The owners, Paul and Lynne, are delightful and very welcoming. I will be staying there again and recommend it to my family and friends. I would also recommend it to anyone who either wants to be in the region and just have a friendly and clean place to stay, or to anyone who wishes to explore East Devon to use it as a starting point - the \"Tumbling Weir\" itself is a fascinating feat of engineering, and Ottery St Mary has masses of history. Ottery is in the middle of East Devon, so for anyone interested in East Devon history and exploring it, Ottery is a good place to be based. The Tumbling Weir hotel combines old-world charm with a warm welcome, and a \"home from home\" feel. I wholeheartedly recommend it.

Reviewer: Mrs. Joy Turner | Sun 12th Apr 2015


Lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent. Very friendly owners and staff. Lovely food. Couldn\'t fault anything.

Reviewer: Alan Gibson | Thu 2nd Apr 2015


Excellent night stop - Rating 5/5

This hotel is well located in a very peaceful area away from traffic noise with a pretty garden. The room was very comfortable but the food on offer was outstanding. We had an excellent fish dish for supper which was quite superb and breakfast cooked by our host, was all that be asked for in a full English. Delicious and we shall stay there again next we go West!!

Response

What a lovely review, thank you so much. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Mr. David Hawkes | Mon 23rd Mar 2015


Very Pleasant surprise - Rating 5/5

Perfect location for our 2 day stay. We can only highly recommend this family run hotel. Extremely friendly owners who cannot do enough to make your stay as good as anywhere. You cannot better the food which is fresh and beautifully presented.

Response

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was very kind of you to take the time to write it. We do hope you will stay with us again. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Susan Morte | Fri 20th Mar 2015


Relaxing :-) - Rating 4/5

Fantastic breakfast. Service was very friendly and efficient. Room clean and bed comfortable.

Reviewer: Joyce Murphy | Sat 14th Feb 2015


Really Rather Good! - Rating 4/5

I booked in for 4 nights whilst house-hunting. Although the hotel was quiet, service from the owners and their staff was excellent. The hotel was well-appointed and nicely furnished. Breakfast and dinner were both good with plenty of choice and served efficiently. I plan to return!

Response

Thank you so much for your kind review and we are pleased you wish to return to our hotel. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: David Richards | Sat 31st Jan 2015


excellant - Rating 5/5

We were only at the Tumbling Weir Hotel for one night but this is quite long enough to find out what a wonderful place it is to stay, and the food was a great delight your chef is to be congratulated well done we will be back

Response

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We will pass your comments to our chef. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Michael Drewery | Sun 18th Jan 2015


Relaxed atmosphere in the centre of Ottery St Mary - Rating 4/5

Nice small hotel on the bank of the river Otter. Friendly staff and good food at a reasonable price.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments, especially regarding the staff. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Martin Habets | Sun 18th Jan 2015


Fabulous hotel - Rating 5/5

This is my second visit to Tumbling Weir and I would highly recommend a stay here. Well appointed rooms, comfortable bed and friendly and helpful staff, nothing is too much trouble. I am already looking forward to my next visit!

Reviewer: Malcolm Harradine | Tue 9th Dec 2014


wedding night - Rating 5/5

Really lovely friendly hotel will recommend to our friends & family

Reviewer: Tracey Attwood | Tue 9th Dec 2014


Enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed for a short break and found the hotel pleasant and the food excellent. The Owners and staff were attentive and helpful. We plan to return as we enjoyed our stay.

Response

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Mr. V G Payne | Sun 30th Nov 2014


Hidden gem - Rating 5/5

Another quality stay here, nice hotel in a peaceful location, very clean and tidy rooms very comfortable beds, a very good breakfast choice and very tasty, my first choice to stay when working in the area

Response

Thank you so much for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Ian Franklin | Fri 3rd Oct 2014


Recommended - Rating 4/5

Stayed 1 night on business, All staff that I came into contact with we\'re very nice, plenty of parking and a nice clean hotel. Evening meal and breakfast were very good. I will use this Hotel again

Response

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Stephen Smith | Thu 25th Sep 2014


3 nights In August - Rating 5/5

A small hotel with very friendly staff, lovely gardens and a excellent cooked breakfast in the morning!

Response

So kind of you to write such a lovely review. We do hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Mr. Richard Smith | Thu 21st Aug 2014


Overnight stay - Rating 4/5

Weenjoyed a pleasant one night stay with a meal in the restaurant which was excellent Our hosts and other staff were very friendly and helpful

Response

Thank you so much for your kind comments which I will pass on to our staff members. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our hotel. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Sue Swallow | Sat 16th Aug 2014


Tumbling Weir - Rating 5/5

A lovely hotel - although not easily found from the road. I am picky but couldn't fault the room - was a single but plenty of space, nicely presented and bed extremely comfortable. Food for dinner and breakfast was exceptional and staff couldn't be more helpful. Very impressed.

Response

Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Louise Walmsley | Fri 15th Aug 2014


Lovely hotel - Rating 4/5

We had a very pleasant stay in this lovely little hotel. The garden was beautiful, the rooms were clean and modern, the breakfast offered plenty of choice, and the staff were very accommodating events though we arrived late.

Response

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Roger Grant | Sun 10th Aug 2014


A Great Hotel - Rating 5/5

I would recommend this hotel. Rooms are simple but beds are comfortable with quality linen. The food is wonderful. Tasty, freshly cooked, always hot and fantastic flavour. I stay in many hotels. This is a great find.

Response

Thank you for your terrific review. We do hope to see you again at our hotel. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Roger Bellis | Tue 5th Aug 2014


26 July 14 - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable stay. Excellent dinner with good service. We had lovely weather and were able to take advantage of the beautiful garden. Comfy beds and nice pillows.

Reviewer: Kelly Martin | Mon 28th Jul 2014


What a lovely place! - Rating 5/5

I chanced upon this place via Google and stayed one night. It was my first experience of a small privately run hotel for many years - and it was excellent. A well presented room and possibly the best dinner I've ever had in a hotel! What's not to like!

Reviewer: Mr. David Jones | Fri 25th Jul 2014


Lovely hotel - Rating 5/5

This is a lovely hotel in a gorgeous setting. The food was excellent, the staff were very friendly, helpful and always available, and the location was ideal. An ideal hotel

Response

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We will pass on your comments to our staff. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: John Rooker | Thu 24th Jul 2014


Weekend in Devon - Rating 4/5

Very peaceful stay. Pleasant room,great breakfast and helpful staff.

Response

Thank you for your lovely comments. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Annabel MacDonald | Sat 12th Jul 2014


A short stay - Rating 4/5

A comfortable, well presented hotel with welcoming and helpful staff. The restaurant provides good food with a varied and interesting menu. Overall, this hotel gives reasonable value for money.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Michael Hughes | Thu 10th Jul 2014


Good Base for East Devon - Rating 4/5

Really enjoyed our stay. The garden was lovely. Owners and staff were friendly & helpful. Food good. Would recommend the Tumbling Weir Hotel.

Response

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind review. We do hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Mr Foley | Wed 25th Jun 2014


overnight stay - Rating 4/5

very pleasant room, comfortable and clean, disappointingly weak shower. Very good dinner and breakfast.used as overnight stop for Exeter airport, ideal as only 12 mins away.

Response

Thank you for your kind review. Typically we installed a new shower in that room last week after you stayed with us, as we were aware it needed changing. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Alan Smith | Thu 19th Jun 2014


Exceptional - Rating 5/5

Booked into hotel while visiting friends in Ottery. Arrived early to be greeted by friendiy reception staff and was able to check in early with no problems. Room very clean and comfortable with everything I needed. The bathroom very clean and plenty of hot water. Used the restaurant for evening meal and both the food and service were without fault. The quality of the food was of a very high standard and an excellent wine list. Slept very well, bed comfortable and surroundings very quiet. Breakfast also did not disappoint with everything you needed, the fresh fruit salad was fresh and not out of tin. I had poached eggs on toast and cooked to perfection, again excellent service. Had no problems with internet the whole time I was there. I will be using this hotel on a regular basis when visiting friends. Thanks to all at the Tumbling Weir Hotel for a lovely mini break.

Response

Thank you so much for your kind comments. Our customers are very important to us and we pride ourselves on the quality of food and service within the hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Mrs. Aurora Miller | Wed 4th Jun 2014


Very Satisfied - Rating 4/5

Stayed here a couple of times now and would always look to stay here going forward if on a trip to Devon. Nice size rooms, nice powerful shower, lovely people and great food make for a very comfortable stay.

Response

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and taking the time to write our review. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Phil Hunt | Mon 2nd Jun 2014


Good hotel! - Rating 4/5

Friendly staff, comfortable and well equipped room. Quiet location within easy walk of town centre. Excellent food. Well located for Exeter airport as well as for touring the countryside and coast of East Devon. Very reasonably priced. Given the amenities I am surprised that the hotel only carries a two star rating - it deserves more!

Response

Thank you for your fantastic review. Yes we also agree with you regarding 3 stars. We have been told that we qualify for 3 but because our rooms are not overly large we don't want to disappoint people! Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Sarah Lock | Tue 20th May 2014


Ideal for us - Rating 5/5

We found the hotel very welcoming and friendly the food was excellent and bedroom very comfortable

Response

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit us again in the future. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Ian Howell-Smith | Thu 15th May 2014


Good Value Quality Hotel - Rating 4/5

Only stayed one night on our way further south but found the hotel very clean and comfortable. Breakfast and dinner were both excellent and staff were helpful and efficient.

Response

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you in the future. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Mr. Colin Ward | Tue 6th May 2014


One night stay re funeral nearby - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely short stay. Nice bright rooms. very welcoming and fab breakfast in the morning.

Response

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Mrs. Jeanette Dyson | Sat 3rd May 2014


Great breakfast - Rating 4/5

And a fine supper too. My room was clean and comfortable, service was friendly and it was all good value for money. Satisfied customer.

Response

Thank you so much for your comments. We hope you will visit us again soon. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Anthony Scott-Malden | Wed 30th Apr 2014


Delightful small hotel - Rating 4/5

Set in a glorious mature garden, with a traditional English village close by, this hotel offers comfortable, though generally small, rooms furnished in typical small hotel style. Excellent food offered by restaurant. We stayed overnight, but would have liked to stay longer.

Response

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Dennis Johnson | Wed 16th Apr 2014


Hotel by the weir - Rating 4/5

Stayed there with my sister for 2 nights. We were very pleased with this hotel. It was clean, comfortable and the food was very good. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful. The garden was attractive too.

Response

Thank you for your lovely comments and taking the time to write your review. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Leila Wilson | Tue 8th Apr 2014


our stay in march - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable quiet hotel, tucked away by the river, but only 5 minutes walk across parkland to town centre. Good food, good service.

Response

Thank you for your lovely comments. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Dorothy Oliver | Sat 29th Mar 2014


Thank you - Rating 5/5

Thank you for a comfortable stay.

Response

Thank you for your lovely comment. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Paul Williams | Sat 29th Mar 2014


Will Return! - Rating 5/5

Beautifully clean en-suite and large comfortably furnished double room. Friendly staff and owners. Superb food and a very tranquil location all at a very attractive price. We will be going back!

Response

Thank you for your lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Kind regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Mr Anslow | Mon 24th Mar 2014


Satisfied customer! - Rating 5/5

Charming hotel with attentive, helpful and friendly staff.Located close to the Mill stream and river Otter and overlooking an attractive garden and park.Service, evening meal and breakfast were all excellent and the room was immaculate with all accessories provided. Iwas able to keep the room a little longer than notified check out time which was very welcome.

Response

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Reviewer: William Atherton | Thu 20th Mar 2014


March 2014 - Rating 4/5

Lovely setting, good hospitality; thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Response

Thank you for your lovely comments. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Lynn

Reviewer: Mr. Paul Deacon | Mon 10th Mar 2014


Family do - Rating 4/5

All went very well Room comfortable if a little warm Food extremely good both dinner and breakfast Will certainly visit again

Response

Thank you for your lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Kind regards, Lynn

Reviewer: A Baker | Sun 9th Mar 2014


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

Excellent service, great room and great breakfast. Owners and staff very friendly and helpful. Would definatley stay again

Response

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you in the future. Regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Christine Dromgoole | Sat 1st Mar 2014


A rare treat - Rating 5/5

This is a great little Hotel with very friendly and helpful staff, fabulous food and a great location - highly recommended..!

Response

Thank you very much for your lovely review-we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Regards Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Mr Reynolds | Sat 22nd Feb 2014


Overnight Stay - Rating 5/5

Once again an excellent nights stay and fantastic food

Response

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards, Lynn Thurgate

Reviewer: Mr. Christopher Burch | Thu 20th Feb 2014


Satisfied guest - Rating 5/5

This hotel is off the main road and very quiet, with friendly staff and good food. My room had everything I could possibly need and was scrupulously clean and comfortable. Why only 2star?

Response

Thank you for your terrific comments and we have been offered 3 stars but feel that some of our rooms are on the compact side and some guests would not be satisfied. Regards Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Freda Watson | Sat 18th Jan 2014


Attending funeral - Rating 5/5

Nice cosy room. Very friendly staff and delicious Food. Well recommended.

Response

Thank you for your terrific review-we do appreciated your feedback. Regards Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Mr. Antony Jackson | Fri 15th Nov 2013


Bed & Breakfast - Rating 5/5

Comfortable bed and first cladd breakfast!

Reviewer: Mr. Tony Ingham | Mon 28th Oct 2013


cpnsultant - Rating 4/5

Once I had found it, I was impressed by the welcome and the ambience. I was particularly impressed by the dinner and complement the chef The room was small but adequate and comfortable. I shall definitely go again if in the area.

Reviewer: Mr. John Delaine | Thu 10th Oct 2013


Lovely Stay - Rating 4/5

Lovely room great food had evening meal which was excellent.

Reviewer: Elaine McMenaman | Thu 10th Oct 2013


Hotel Review - Rating 4/5

A very pleasant stay in a quiet and comfortable hotel with friendly staff. The evening meal was superb as indeed were the breakfasts. I wanted to give it 4.5 out of 5 but the systwm would not accept it!

Reviewer: Christopher Russell | Thu 10th Oct 2013


Tumbling Weir Hotel - Rating 4/5

Pros: Lovely location, very clean room, very warm, friendly staff and gorgeous breakfast. Simply the nicest poached eggs I've ever had. Such a simple dish, but very easy to get it wrong! Cons: The entrance is quite off-putting i.e. driving through a derelict industrial location to get to it. I found the bed too soft but know these things are a matter of taste. And my room (number 1) was the first door at the top of the stairs so suffered with lots of noise coming up from the bar. Perhaps think about putting a door on the bar area? - the noise travels straight up the stairs...I would still highly recommend this hotel.

Reviewer: Ms. Jeanette Kenyon | Sun 18th Aug 2013


Short break - Rating 5/5

A comfortable, welcoming place to stay with attentive, helpful hosts and staff and excellent food. We'll definitely be back!

Response

Thank you very much for your very complimentary review. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you in the future. Regards, Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Mrs. Jennifer Buffle | Fri 2nd Aug 2013


Weekend B&B - Rating 5/5

Comfortable accomodation, excellent breakfasts and friendly staff; all in a beautiful setting.

Response

Thank you for your lovely comments. Lynn and Paul

Reviewer: Mr. Andrew Weale | Thu 20th Jun 2013


We will use this again - Rating 5/5

Very clean and comfortable , excellent well cooked breakfast and the surroundings are quiet - strange entrance through an old mill - good value etc for a 2 star hotel

Reviewer: Mr. Michael Tysoe | Sun 24th Mar 2013


A little jewel - Rating 5/5

A friendly, cosy hotel with delightful gardens and excellent tastefully decorated bedrooms. Comfortable beds and the peaceful setting make for a very good night's sleep. The food is all freshly home cooked and delicious. What this hotel lacks in size it makes up for in ambience and good value for money.

Reviewer: Mrs. Anne-marie Somers | Sat 2nd Mar 2013


Tumbling Weir - Rating 5/5

We had a very enjoyable and relaxing weekend. Excellent food an great service.

Reviewer: Mr. Graham Hayward | Mon 25th Feb 2013


november 11th - Rating 5/5

I was the only person staying at the hotel, but I couldn't have been better treated. When I said I needed an early start, they provided a tray for breakfast complete with my own toaster, at 6:30am!I would definitely saty here again if I was in the area.

Response

Thank you for your lovely comments. Hope we see you again.

Reviewer: Ms Mary Philpott | Tue 13th Nov 2012


Book Online


Our Facilities

  • Conference
  • Credit card
  • Free parking
  • Parking facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Laundry
  • Family rooms
  • Breakfast in room
  • Bridal suite
  • Internet services
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Wedding functions
  • Romantic breaks
  • Walking holidays
  • Country retreat

Contact Details

Tumbling Weir Hotel and Restaurant
Canaan Way
Ottery St. Mary
Devon
EX11 1AQ
Tel: 01404 812 752
reception@tumblingweirhotel.com